It’s Time We Realised

wpid-1432307656572.jpg

I dipped my head under water, expecting the wave to take me away, my body to lay on the beach. I waited – eyes closed, anxious – nothing happened. I let out the air held through my nose and stood, refreshed beyond belief. Another wave was forming, I slowly descended. Waiting more anxiously this time – eyes shut tighter. Still, nothing. I opened my eyes, the salt water burned them. The irritation faded and finally, my sight was resorted. Under water, my senses were dull, I couldn’t move well, hear well, see well or smell at all. But beauty was more than evident. Ravishing in the water filtered sun light was the algae on the rocks, the microscopic fish in their schools, the sand – apparently defying gravity. I could feel my lungs’ thirst for oxygen reaching its apex, so I pushed off a rock. Gasp. And finally the wave crashed. I felt the water go up my nose, in my eyes. I could feel my body lose any control it had. I crawled onto the beach, coughing and spitting out all the water. I stood, weary, and stared into the sea – its blue not as crystal now – and realised how insignificant and tiny I was. A miniscule spec when compared to the rest of the world. Populations under the sea just adding to our 7 billion. The billions below the sea haven’t disturbed us in any way, they haven’t even been on our land. But we’ve spilt oil in their home, burned parts down, thrown bomb residue, what right do we have? The beauty I was fortunate to see was beyond compare to any landscape we have above water. We never respect land that doesn’t belong to us. This mentality can be seen everywhere around us, even when it comes to our neighbour’s property, non of us seem to give a damn. But why? Why does every situation where humans get involved become idiosyncratic? Are we idiots? Does the world just belong to us? And how long will it be before we all realise what the right answer is? I guess we have to sit and wait for either self realisation or for mother earth to do her job and make us realise.

Leave a comment